Here is the list of winners of the 74th edition of the Emmy Awards: “Succession” voted the best drama series, while the South Korean series “Squid Game” made history

Two heavyweights shared honors at the Emmy Awards on Monday: HBO’s juggernaut “Succession” was named best drama series, while South Korean series “Squid Game” made history in the competition with the best actor award for its main interpreter, Lee Jung-jae. Playing on the title of his programme, ‘Succession’ creator Jesse Armstrong said it was a ‘holy week’ for Dynasties, referring to the death of England’s Queen Elizabeth II and her son’s accession to the throne.

“Apparently, there were a few more votes for our accession (to the throne) than for Prince Charles,” he joked. Already awarded a major trophy in 2020, this dark and grating chronicle of a powerful family struggling to control a media empire (not unlike billionaire Rupert Murdoch), also won three other awards today year. , especially for its screenplay and the best supporting role, given to Matthew Macfadyen.

Despite its 25 nominations, the American program had to share the spotlight with the South Korean phenomenon “Squid Game”, a dark and violent criticism of excessive capitalism, where poor people kill each other in each other during cruel children’s games with the hope of winning. millions.

Produced by Netflix, this worldwide success won six awards, and in particular wrote a new page in the history of the Emmy Awards, equivalent to the Oscars of American television, thanks to the award for the best actor in a drama series given to its star principal, Lee Jung-jae.

A first for a translator who plays in a language other than English. The series confirms the growing success of South Korean cinema in Hollywood: in 2020, “Parasite” by director Bong Joon-ho won the Oscar for the best film. Rewarded for his success, the brain behind “Squid Game”, Hwang Dong-hyuk was highly honored.

“I don’t think I wrote a page of history myself, because you opened the doors of the + Squid Game +”, launched the director.

“We are making history together and I hope +Squid Game+ is not the last Korean series at the Emmys.”

In the drama genre, actress Zendaya cemented her status as Hollywood’s newest darling, winning Best Actress for her role as a drug-addicted teenage girl in HBO’s ‘Euphoria’, as of 2020. The hilarious series’ Ted Lasso” (Apple TV +) Re-entered as the best comedy of the year, after its victory in 2021. Jason Sudeikis, who plays an American football coach who is parachuted into the English football team , also won the Emmy for Best Actor in a Comedy.

Among the mini-series, “The White Lotus”, which deals with the ambient hypocrisy of a Hawaiian luxury hotel, dominated the night with 10 awards, including the best production of the genre – which combines the series in one season. Michael Keaton, for his part, received the Emmy for the best actor in this category, for his role in “Dopesick”, a mini-series that examines the deadly addiction in the United States to opioids.

Far from the sudden slap that Will Smith gave to the presenter Chris Rock at the last Oscars, the return of the Emmys in a theater (a first since the pandemic), hosted by the comedian Kenan Thompson, happened without’ y many surprises.


– Best Drama Series –


– Best Comedy –

“Ted Lasso”

– Best Actor in a Drama Series –

Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game”

– Best Actress in a Drama Series –

Zendaya, “Euphoria”

– Best actor in a series, comedy –

Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

– Best Actress in a Series, Comedy –

Jean Smart, “Hacks”

– Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series –

Matthew Macfadyen, “Succession”

– Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series –

Julia Garner, “Ozark”

– Best Supporting Actor in a Series, Comedy –

Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”

– Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Comedy –

Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”

– Best Miniseries –

“The White Lotus”

– Best Actor in a Miniseries or TV Movie –

Michael Keaton, “Dopesick”

– Best Actress in a Miniseries or TV Movie –

Amanda Seyfried, “The Dropout”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.