Tour du Limousin – The fourth stage for the Albanese, Alex Aranburu 2nd and crowned!

It’s premiere day this Friday at Tour of Limousin – Périgord – New Aquitaine ! First of all, and this after many places of honor, Vincenzo Albanese took the first victory of his career on the occasion of the 4th and last stage of the French race. Out of the peloton more than 1 kilometer from the finish in Limoges, the Italian of the team EOLO Comet narrowly resisted the return of a peloton regulated by Alex Aranburu (Movistar Team), who knew how to defend their yellow jersey perfectly, giving Spain their first victory in the general classification in 55 editions. Third this Friday, the Italian Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates) was his runner-up, while the Belgian Greg Van Avermaet (AG2R Citroën Team) completed the final podium.

Video – Vincenzo Albanese’s victory in Limoges, Aranburu is crowned

Warren Barguil, Stan Dewulf, Alessandro Covi, Alan Boileau… a big and beautiful front group

After several offensives at the start of the race, 14 riders hit their heels in this fourth and final stage of the race. Tour of Limousin – Périgord – New Aquitaine : Stan Dewulf (AG2R Citroën Team), Warren Barguil (Team Arkéa-Samsic), Stephane Rossetto (St Michel-Auber93), Alexandre Delettre (Cofidis), Julen Amezqueta (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), Clement Carisey (Go Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole), Alan Boileau (B&B Hotels-KTM), Paul Ourselin (Team TotalEnergies), Gonzalo Serrano (Movistar Team), Emmanuel Morin (Team U Nantes Atlantique), Alessandro Covi (UAE Team Emirates), Samuel Rivi (EOLO-Comet), Mateo Ladagnous (Groupama-FDJ) and Mathijs Paasschens (Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB).

At first, the peloton resists, then it releases the ballast, allowing the breakaways to benefit from a 1’30” lead at 90 terminals from the goal. No rider is too dangerous for the yellow jersey Alex AranburuBarguil, Dewulf, Paasschens, sea ​​urchin and his teammate Serrano clocked at 2’41” this Friday morning – the Movistar Team not panic at the back, especially since two teams that are not represented in the front are riding it, that is Equipo Kern Pharma and Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè. Then comes the training Cofidis that forced, which did not suit the leading group, finally took back 36 terminals from the goal, when entering the last circuit.

The beautiful attack of the duo Dujardin-Van Niekerk, the decisive attack of Vincenzo Albanese

Sandy Dujardin (Team TotalEnergies) and Morne Van Niekerk (St Michel-Auber93) then managed to take their heels. Having dug a nice gap in the peloton, the French and the South African were soon chased by the Spaniard Abel Balderstone. The runner of Caja Rural-Seguros RGA makes some of his delay at first, then it is flat and even loses time. While the chaser was caught before the 10 kilometer mark, In the garden and Van Niekerk 40 seconds ahead of a peloton where Greg Van Avermaet (AG2R Citroën Team), third in the general classification, suffered a puncture. On the hardest bump in the last circuit, Alessandro Fedeli (EOLO-Kometa) sets up an attack, then it’s the turn of William Martin (Cofidis) to facilitate. However, all the first generals managed to obey the Norman, which was appropriate Fedeliwho managed to keep a few steps ahead of the peloton.

During this time, the leading duo saw their decline significantly because, 5 kilometers from the finish, they had a 15-second margin on a peloton that came back. Fedeli and was seen returning Van Avermaet. This is the team UAE Team Emirates operating in this last stage, the goal is that Diego Ulissi can compete in the sprint for the victory and get the bonuses. while In the garden and Van Niekerk taken, Vincenzo Albanese (EOLO-Kometa) mounted an attack that put the peloton in trouble. Chased by Frank Bonnamour (B&B Hotels-KTM), the Italian made a great effort. And unlike the Breton, who was caught, the Italian fought back and won in Limoges, just ahead. Alex Aranburuthe final winner of this 55th edition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.